NameWee vs Rais

Alright, we all know that Namewee loves to court controversy. I have this feeling that he is an attention whore and he needs to be in the limelight for the purposes of furthering his career. Honestly, if he did not face the kinds of trouble that he has, it is unlikely that many of us would know the artiste known as Namewee. Fortunately for him, our government is run by a bunch of fools who continue to feed him his daily dose of notoriety.

The latest incident comes from Namewee complaining about the services provided by our utilities company, Tenaga Nasional Berhad (or more affectionately known as Total National Blackout). Regardless of what Namewee has done or is doing to TNB, this is merely a simple matter of a customer being unhappy with the services provided and venting out, which is a perfectly normal thing to do. I don’t think that there is anyone among us who has not cursed TNB at one time or another (or TMNET for that matter).

What I am amazed at is the stupidity of our politicians. Quoting from TheStar, our Information, Communications, Cul­ture and Arts Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said that:

…investigations would be conducted on the lyrics, content and composition of the song before any action was taken against Wee. He said the Penal Code and the Communications and Multimedia Act could be used against offenders. We cannot allow acts that insult which could lead to disharmony…

WTF?!

Honestly, I think that our minister is confused by what is happening (or otherwise misquoted as our politicians usually are). This is a simple matter of a customer being unhappy with a service provided by a company and venting it publicly. This could not possibly lead to any sort of disharmony especially at the national level. It sets a very dangerous precedent if the government decides to step in and stop customers from complaining about services provided by private companies. It is extremely detrimental to consumer rights and the whole economy in general.

Let us not confuse ourselves. TNB is a private company that is providing power utility services. It is by no means the only power provider in Malaysia even if it is the biggest one. If its services levels are not good enough, customers have the right to complain as much as they want. If TNB feels that what the customer is saying is slanderous, by all means, take the customer to court and see how that pans out with the rest of its customer base.

While Namewee may be a total bastard in many ways, it is well within his right to rant and rave if there is cause for it. In a proper market, we would have multiple vendors, instead of multiple monopolies, competing for customers. If TNB sucked, we could always walk off and buy power from another company, if only our markets worked properly. Unfortunately, things do not work that way in Malaysia.

PS: I wish that TMNet did not suck and provide us with 10Mbps broadband speeds at a low-cost in Malaysia.

Breathe Sleep

I hate jet-lag. I’m wide awake at night and half-asleep during the day. Let’s hope that this long weekend will give me enough rest to cure it.

And I need to find out what result my nephew got in his end-of-year school exams. I sort of remember promising him a Wii if he managed to top his entire cohort. However, seeing that he is still pretty new at his PS2 games, I may defer getting him the Wii first. I really do not want to waste my money on a Wii if it turns out that he has little interest in playing games. Alternatively, I may get him something else that he wants, instead of a Wii.

Print Magazine

This is interesting. I have never considered my photography of sufficient quality to warrant printing but a Japanese print magazine had recently contacted me to ask for permission to use one of my photographs in their magazine. It is for a special issue of their magazine that will be coming out next month. They have been upfront with their terms, which is good:

Why I would like to use it is so beautiful and really suit for the concept for the special issue. I’m afraid it’s going to be for free although, I will e-mail the page’s PDF to you after it’s published. If you allow me to use it, of course your name will be on it as a credit.

The photo is presently published under a Creative Commons license (SA-NC-BY). I think that it is exceedingly good form on their part to actually contact me for permission in using the photograph for their magazine. There are so many companies out there who will just take your stuff and pretend that it is theirs while hoping that nobody would notice. There are also plenty of professionals engaged in such activities. I decided to grant them the permission to use the photo for their print magazine. In addition, I had asked them to send me a small amount of money to make the transaction all legit.

The photograph was received. The message is done again if there is a question concerning the photograph and others. It makes an effort about Japanese coins being possible to do. Thank you really for polite correspondence.

Now I noticed that the standards of English were not quite as good as the standard message that they sent out earlier. I did not really know if they had understood my request about the Japanese coins but I didn’t bother too much about it. If they did send me the money, I would be happy. The first thing that I found when I came home was that they had sent me a print copy of the December 2009 issue of their magazine along with my photo in it, and the bit of money that I had asked for.

This totally made my day.

PS: I had asked for a single coin of each denomination in Japan, which totals up to about RM25 (666 Yen).

Long Hauler

I am in for another long haul flight back home, soon. I am not looking forward to it. I will try my best to get some work done on the flight back so that I can kick start things once I get home. Life will be very interesting over the next couple of weeks. Let’s just hope that I make it back home safely.

Life Memory

It’s nice to know that I have friends. I got a bunch of emails, text messages and instant messages to wish me luck and all the best, just before my big day. On one hand I was quite glad that there were a lot of people who believed in me and supported me while on the other hand, I was also feeling the weight of all that expectation that I did not want to let down. The day is finally over and the memory of it is something that will probably stay with me for the rest of my life.

It was not a pleasurable experience but a real learning experience and not one that I would soon forget. It did not turn out very well but it could have ended up being much worse. Thankfully, it was not and I think that I got the best result that I could have expected. In fact, the funny thing was, a friend of mine asked me a few days ago what I would do if I was my own examiner and I said that I would have done the exact same thing that I ended up getting.

Well, at least this is finally over and the finishing line is within sight. Now, is the rightful mad dash to the finish!

Meeting the Queen

I got to see the queen again, today – she drove past me in her royal car. I went into town to meet up for lunch with some friends today. We planned to eat at a small restaurant on King’s Parade but it turned out that the queen was having lunch at King’s College right opposite. So, the entire street was blocked off from traffic. Well, I got to see the Queen as her car drove past everyone else on the way to King’s. I got the video to prove it too! The first time I got to meet the queen was in my first year at Cambridge. Since the road was so busy, we adjourned elsewhere for lunch.

It was nice to get to meet up with some of my favourite friends at Cambridge – these two in particular, are in my good books. I do so wish that we could spend more than just an hour or so catching up. There are so many interesting things that are happening in everyone’s lives. Well, some of my friends will be coming back to Malaysia to work after they graduate. I do hope that I’ll be able to catch up with them more often at home. I am such a busy-body, trying to know how people get on with their lives.

I also managed to get my copy of Burnout Paradise (non-ultimate) swapped with a Burnout Paradise Ultimate for the same price. All is well in this world.

PS: I hope to get a good rest tonight but I kinda think that it will be difficult. I do hope that I will be alert and thinking on my feet tomorrow.

Blu Line

good luck to myselfI need to draw a line at some-point when it comes to bluray purchases. This was particularly true as I had the option of getting some movies and also tv series on bluray instead of DVD. However, it would be slightly more expensive. I deliberated this a bit and decided to draw a line.

I would continue to purchase DVDs for films that were shot prior to the HD era. There are a number of old classics being re-mastered into bluray. There is no reason to purchase these in bluray because they were not shot and made for HD. In essence, the originals are just being up-sampled to a higher resolution. A PS3 can already handle the up-sampling fairly decently by adding an oil-canvas feel to the images instead of noise.

I would also continue to purchase DVDs for sets that I already have parts of in DVD. It would not make sense to re-build my entire collection in bluray just because they were there. For example, I already have Spiderman 1 and 2 on DVD and it would not make sense for me to get Spidey 3 on bluray. Ditto for Battlestar Galactica. I already have everything except the last two seasons on DVD. It would not make sense for me to get the entire series again on bluray.

However, I made no qualms about getting the new Star Trek on bluray. I am actually looking forward to watching it on my PS3 in full-HD glory on my television. I think that I will probably organise a small gathering with some friends of mine to watch Star Trek on bluray after I get back. It’s supposed to be region free and it does not state a region on the cover. I just hope that it plays on my PS3!